DISCOVER MANOSQUE AND ITS REGION.

Situated between the Verdon and the Luberon, Manosque and the Best Western Hotel le Sud are an ideal starting point for discovering the Haute Provence as well as the nearby Côte d’Azur. Here, you are half an hour from Aix en Provence, at only an hour’s drive from Cassis and the Calanques, and you can explore all the beautiful sites that the region has in store for you. On the agenda, walks, sports activities, exploration and hikes through landscapes straight out of a Cézanne painting.

THE TOWN OF MANOSQUE

Native town of Jean Giono, Manosque embodies the soul of authentic Provence. With its local markets where you can savour regional products, honey, melon, Banon cheese, olive oil or truffles, it provides a perfect base from which to immerse oneself in the heart of Haute Provence. The Jean Giono centre, the Carzou foundation, the sugar loaf Bori, the Occitane de Provence company, the Saunerie gate or even the Mont d’Or tower, symbol of the town - discover a population and heritage like no other. The town is also an extraordinary starting point for going off to discover all the beauties of the region.

THE VERDON REGIONAL NATURAL PARK

Considered the most beautiful canyon in Europe, with its vertiginous gorges, it is a countryside made up of 1000 colours and fragrances, with its thousands-of-years-old Verdon gorges, where you will discover the Sainte Croix lake and the wild Esparron lake. Leaving Manosque, go due south on the D907, cross the Durance river and take the D6 road towards Valensole, known for its fields of lavender, its almond trees, its cereals and its honey. A road enables you to wander through the gorges and discover unforgettable and majestic landscapes. Also take the time to discover villages such as Rougon, or La Palud sur Verdon. The former will be a delight of all kinds of walks and unbelievable panoramas, whereas the latter will be a well-deserved break in this area reminiscent of the valleys of the lower Alps.

THE VALENSOLE PLATEAU

Hotel Le Sud à Manosque, tout près du Plateau de Valensolle

Between the Durance and the Verdon, the Valensole plateau appears in high-resolution colour, full of endless blues, with its fields of lavender. Land of lavender and wheat, fertile earth for almond trees, you can contemplate, throughout this circuit of 110 kilometres, this vast plateau bordered to the north by the Asse valley and to the south by the Moustiers and Canjuers mountains.

THE LUBERON NATURAL PARK

Land of contrast with magnificent landscapes, the regional natural park of the Luberon, which extends around Manosque, is unique for the quality of its landscapes, its natural environment, as well as its population and architectural heritage. Breathe in the soft air of Provence and let your eyes soak up the Occitan colours. Hikes, exploration, sports activities, also go and discover a myriad of hilltop villages, each one more beautiful than the other: Roussillon and its red ochre, Gordes and its ancient stonework, Lourmarin and its art galleries, Bonnieux and its splendid view, or even Lacoste and its Marquis de Sade castle ...

LA CITADELLE DE SISTERON

"It is the mightiest fortress in my realm,” said Henri IV. Well-known tourist and cultural attraction, a visit to the Sisteron citadel is not to be missed. Between Provence and the Dauphiné, dominating the gorge where the Durance river flows, the Citadel of Sisteron is impressive, crowning the town with its walls, its bastions, its keep. The view we discover there is stunning, extending over 150 kms - it offers the most beautiful vista in Haute Provence. Classified historic monument, extending over 10 hectares, it is witness to eight centuries of architecture and history. You will admire the keep and the parapet walk, built on a narrow rocky ridge and dating from the 13th century, or even the magnificent tiering of fortified enclosures dating from the 16th century.

GREOUX LES BAINS

Located between the Luberon and the Verdon, at the crossroads of 4 counties (Var, Vaucluse, Bouches-du-Rhône and the Alpes de Haute-Provence), Gréoux les Bains is a typically Provençal village and also the 3rd spa town of France. Its Templars’ castle, its chapels, its ramparts, its church crowned by a belfry, its troglodyte spas used since the Gallo-Roman period, make it a place steeped in history. From the undisturbed riverbanks of the Verdon to the healing waters of the Spas, through to the sound of the fountains and washing places, water is the High Priestess of the village. An ideal destination for rejuvenation treatment, or a relaxing day out.

A repeat again - nice welcome, comfortable room with nice decor

Guislaine - Senlis. Avis TRIPADVISOR

DECOUVRIR MANOSQUE ET SA REGION.

Situés entre le Verdon et le Luberon, Manosque et le Best Western Hôtel le Sud sont un point de départ idéal pour découvrir la Haute Provence mais aussi la côte d'Azur toute proche. Ici vous êtes à une demi/heure d'Aix en Provence, à une heure seulement de Cassis et des Calanques et vous pouvez explorer toutes les beautés que vous réserve la région. Au programme, promenades, activités sportives, exploration et randonnées dans des décors qui sortent tout droit d'un tableau de Cézanne. 

LA VILLE DE MANOSQUE

Ville natale de Jean Giono, la ville de Manosque incarne l'âme de la Provence authentique. Avec ses marchés typiques où vous pourrez savourer tous les produits du terroir, le miel, le melon, le fromage de Banon, l'huile d'olive ou la truffe, elle offre un tremplin parfait pour s'immerger au coeur de la haute Provence. Le centre Jean Giono, la fondation Carzou, le Bori du pain de sucre, la manufacture de l’Occitane en Provence, la porte Saunerie, ou encore la Tour du Mont d’or, symbole de la ville, partez à la rencontre d’une population et d’un patrimoine à nul autre pareil. La ville est aussi un point de départ extraordinaire pour explorer toutes les beautés de la région.

LE PARC NATUREL RÉGIONAL DU VERDON

Considéré comme le plus beau canyon d’Europe, avec ses gorges vertigineuses, c’est un pays aux 1000  couleurs et parfums, avec ses gorges du Verdon millénaires où le lac de Sainte Croix et le sauvage lac d'Esparron s'ouvrent à vous. Au départ de Manosque, prendre plein sud la D907, traverser la Durance et prendre la D6 en direction de Valensole, connue pour ses champs de lavande, ses amandiers, ses céréales et son miel. Une route permet de parcourir les gorges et de découvrir des paysages inoubliables et majestueux. Prenez aussi le temps de découvrir des villages comme Rougon ou La Palud sur Verdon. Le premier sera un régal de ballades en tout genre et de panoramas incroyables, tandis que le deuxième sera une pause méritée dans cet endroit rappelant les vallées des basses alpes.

LE PLATEAU DE VALENSOLE
Hotel Le Sud à Manosque, tout près du Plateau de Valensolle

Entre Durance et Verdon, le plateau de Valensole fait une apparition haute en couleur, déclinant ses bleus à l’infini avec ses champs de lavande. Pays du lavandin et du blé, terre propice à l’amandier, vous pourrez contempler à travers ce circuit de 110 kilomètres ce vaste plateau délimité au nord par la vallée de l’Asse et au sud par les monts de Moustiers et Canjuers.

LE PARC NATUREL DU LUBERON

Terre de contraste aux paysages magnifiques, le parc naturel régional du Luberon qui s'étend autour de Manosque est unique par la qualité de ses paysages, de son milieu naturel mais aussi de sa population et de son patrimoine architectural. Respirez l'air doux de la Provence et laissez vos yeux se gorger des couleurs occitanes. Randonnées, exploration, activités sportives, partez aussi à la découverte d'une myriade de villages perchés, tous plus beaux les uns que les autres : Roussillon et ses ocres rouges, Gordes et ses vielles pierres, Lourmarin et ses galeries d’art, Bonnieux et sa vue splendide ou encore Lacoste et son château du Marquis de Sade.

LA CITADELLE DE SISTERON

"C'est la plus puissante forteresse de mon royaume" disait Henri IV. Haut lieu touristique et culturel, la visite de la citadelle de Sisteron est à ne pas manquer. Entre Provence et Dauphiné, dominant la cluse où coule la Durance, la Citadelle de Sisteron barre le ciel, couronne la ville de ses enceintes, de ses bastions, de son donjon. La vue qu’on y découvre est saisissante, sur 150 km, elle offre le plus beau point de vue de Haute Provence. Monument historique classé, s’étendant sur 10 hectares, elle porte huit siècles d’architecture et d’histoire. Vous pourrez y admirer donjon et chemin de ronde, construits sur l’étroite épine rocheuse, et datant du XIIIe siècle,  ou encore le magnifique étagement d’enceintes bastionnées datant du XVIe s.

GREOUX LES BAINS

Situé entre Luberon et Verdon, à la croisée de 4 départements (Var, Vaucluse, Bouches-du-Rhône et Alpes de Haute-Provence), Gréoux les Bains est un village typiquement provençal et aussi la 3ème station thermale de France. Son château des templiers, ses chapelles, ses remparts, son église couronnée d'un campanile, ses thermes troglodytiques utilisés depuis l'Epoque Gallo-Romaine en font un lieu chargé d’histoire. Des berges sauvages du Verdon aux eaux bienfaisantes des Thermes en passant par le clapotis des fontaines et lavoirs, l'eau est la grande prêtresse du village. Une destination idéale pour une cure de jouvence ou une journée de détente.

Très bon accueil, chambres agréables, cuisine de qualité, facilité d'accès. Nous avons été très satisfaits de notre séjour.

André C. - 06/10/16